The Unwalked Roads

25 08 2010

At the middle of your road, turn off your car or get down from your ride, start walking in that area that you’re not familiar with, that area that you never stepped foot into before. Start walking as if you know where you are heading to, don’t look around like tourists, don’t look back to remember landmarks in order to go back easily, take sharp turns, walk bristly, never stop, you may follow someone else, you might not find someone to follow, arrive at your destination (the one that you have never seen before), take a good look at it, enjoy your achievement!

I used to do this…every day.
And that joy I used to get when I reach there, cannot be matched.

I used to wake up before dawn, I used to get myself in a totally unknown area, my goal was simple: to pray Fajr everyday in a mosque I never entered before.
I used to hear Fajr calls while walking in a totally strange street, I used to adjust my path to follow the sounds of Azan coming out from minarets, I used to differentiate the sounds to determine which is near and which is far, sometimes I’d still have time…that’s when I headed for the far sounds. I used to keep an eye for minarets, I used to follow people getting out from their homes…because they certainly know where they are heading to!! I used get this cool and freshness whenever I see the mosque’s doors open, people inside waiting for prayer and me blending in smoothly.

Before starting doing this, my biggest fear was to keep wandering and reaching no mosque till the prayers were done…and then I would have lost time and effort and maybe the prayer itself if I kept wandering till sunrise. That never happened. In fact, I never missed the Eqamah.

At first, I was worried to wander and get nowhere. But then when day after day proved that I always arrived to a mosque in time, fear was replaced by excitement, I was always excited to meet this new mosque, the one that I never laid my eyes on before, the one that I most probably will never see again, that’s why I used to take a good look at it when I reached it. A nice feeling was developing while getting on foot and walking with confidence knowing that I am on my way to reach something that I never reached before, that I WILL reach it, for me, I got the feeling that the whole earth was mine, it was made for me to pray.

Years later, I tried to really figure out why this activity was particularly enjoyable to me. I figured out the following: “I liked to do this because it represents life on earth”. On earth, we our life is a long walk in unknown roads, we seek a goal (I name it Jannah) while walking , we never seen our goal before, but we have rough description of how it looks like so we should know it when we see it, we don’t know where it is, we’re not even sure the roads we walk in will lead to it, and sometimes we follow people or even signs to get there. I think I liked doing it so much because it always proved to end happily, I think it was feeding my inner hopes that my life will end happily.

I learned much from my walks. I learned that the known roads to me are nothing, Absolutely Nothing, compared to the unknown roads out there. That the known roads are a special case, and that the general case was called “Unwalked Road”. I learned to walk in confidence in all roads, because if I am gonna feel confident only in my known area, that would mean feeling confident in only 1% of my time. I learned that looking back while walking is utterly meaningless by all meanings this word can carry. I learned that I shouldn’t be knowing everything in order to get “there”. I learned that fear of failure is such a disgusting thing, and that you will Never know how disgusting it is unless you conquer it and discover the great things it was holding from you. I learned that “being able to do what once was never thought of” leads to only one truth: that right now I am able to do something I never thought of, yet it can be done, which is a handy fact to remember from time to time. I learned that the loud and busy streets at day are the same very quiet streets at night, that I may sometimes -maybe most of the time- walk in daylight and not talk to any human till I reach my destination, and same happens at night, and then I realized that we are Always on our own, I never learned that till I walked in empty streets. I learned that places can change, but as long as it is the same me, then it doesn’t matter, unknown roads are just like stair steps, you don’t need to know them step by step in order to climb and reach your destination, when you encounter stair-steps you simply climb them without much thinking, they were made to serve YOU reaching what you want, and I learned that I should treat the “unknown” just like I treat stairsteps, it’s not something to be afraid of, it’s just something to pay attention with. I learned to “love” the unknown, because that’s my true real path…and my small trials in streets told that walking with true believe inside…gets you there !!!

Reda Maged

Actions

Information

11 responses

25 08 2010
Rough

gr8

26 08 2010
Prof.AhmedSaadisA

wow 🙂

27 08 2010
gjoez

. قال عليه الصلاة والسلام: { بشّر المشائين في الظلم إلى المساجد بالنور التام يوم القيامة }
[رواه أبو داود والترمذي وصححه الألباني]

27 08 2010
Reda Maged

@ Rough & Ahmed: Thanks 🙂
@ gjoez: Amen

28 08 2010
Ahmed Fouad

Very nice post ya Reda 🙂

fe3lan the best way to relieve stress is to get lost in unfamiliar places/experiences also walking until being totally exhausted saves you from the roving mind.

el moshkela el wa7eda enak me7tag time we enough courage 🙂

1 09 2010
Esraa

how did you get such an idea… how much time did it take to learn from it?!

msA… I’m really wordless.. it is amazing how u came up with such adventure … how you insist to repeat it … how you describe it … ur wording… ur philosophy in mapping it to the life we live & the road to Jannah … and how you analyze it.. the lessons you wrote…

you are teaching urself out of nothing ! usually we learn from the experience we live..from situations, problems etc …they come to us … some self-motivated pple might seek them…but what you did was inventing something to learn from it…which is very impressive !

This is a piece of art … msA ! & ur post made my day

1 09 2010
Amira El-Baroudy

Just to be said really Nice 🙂

Crossed over my mind when you said “The Earth was mine made for me pray” that hadeeth for Al Nabey salla Allahu 3alayhee wassalam that says :

أعطيت خمسا ، لم يعطهن أحد قبلي : نصرت بالرعب مسيرة شهر ، وجعلت لي الأرض مسجدا وطهورا ، فأيما رجل من أمتي أدركته الصلاة فليصل ، وأحلت لي المغانم ولم تحل لأحد قبلي ، وأعطيت الشفاعة ، وكان النبي يبعث إلى قومه خاصة ، وبعثت إلى الناس عامة .

Keep going on your path.. you’ll definitely reach your destination 🙂

1 09 2010
Reda Maged

@ Fouad: Courage is not a problem, it can be developed if it’s not there. Time, however, can’t be 😀
@ Esraa: ur comment is much nicer to be commented. I m glad u liked it.
@ Amira: I always liked this hadith, it gives a nice feeling when it be heard. Thanks ya Amira 🙂

7 08 2011
asmaamagdi

This post touched me a lot. You did what I always wanted to do; go somewhere new every now and then and just enjoy the different streets and different faces. I always thought that I should go out, get in the first bus passing by and get off randomly after being “far enough”.
Unfortunately I couldn’t do it so far. I think I’m just not comfortable with the idea of a member of my family calling and asking where I am. I’ll try to do it someday though, hopefully soon. It’s nice to know that other people enjoy this as well.

Nice post 🙂

7 08 2011
Reda Maged

Asmaa, thanks for passing by 🙂 and happy Ramadan

18 01 2013
Alaa

You know.. Its really amazing knowing that you’re not the only one thinking in a particular unusual way.. Nd its even more amazing to get to know this in your weakest days 🙂
Great piece as always nd as expected. Cant wait to read the rest and the future ones. Chapeau and God bless 🙂

Leave a Reply

